Summer Bucket List

With Memorial Day Weekend marking the unofficial start of summer, I found myself sipping my coffee Monday morning with a breeze blowing through the screen door, contemplating what the season would bring. J and I have some really wonderful summer plans ahead, including a day trip to NYC, a week in Cape Cod with his family, and a trip to England and Scotland. Even with our planned travels, I can’t help but feel the itch to make this summer one to remember. Behold, my summer bucket list.

-Read 8 books between Memorial Day and Labor Day

I love to read, but I have noticed myself picking up a book less and less over the last couple of years. I blame Netflix. There are 15 weeks between Memorial Day and Labor Day, so I have a little less than two weeks to get through each book. I’ll share my summer reading list in an upcoming post!

– Go to Six Flags

J and I live just a few miles away from Six Flags America here in Maryland, and we haven’t been. This summer it is!

– Attend at least one outdoor concert

There’s nothing better than sitting under the stars listening to live music. I need to scope out touring dates and see what my options are, but I hope to get to at least one outdoor concert, big or small.

– Try three new restaurants in our area

We are lucky to be surrounded by amazing food and restaurants, but we find ourselves heading back to old favorites. Between options in DC, Annapolis, and Baltimore, we should easily be able to check off some new spots by summer’s end and hopefully add a new favorite or two to the books.

– Visit two new local Farmer’s Markets

On the same note, there are Farmer’s Markets everywhere you turn around here during the warm weather months, but I tend to end up at the same ones. Two specifically on my list are the Annapolis Market by the water and the Fell’s Point Market in Baltimore.

– Go to Sandy Point State Park

Sandy Point State Park is a Maryland State Park located right before the Bay Bridge. It includes a sandy little beach on the Chesapeake Bay, as well as hiking and picnicking opportunities. We drive by it all the time, we just need to stop and make a day of it.

– Visit a local winery

There are tons of local wineries in the area, but the top of my list is Boordy Vineyards. Their Good Life Thursdays were on last year’s bucket list and I never made it, so I’m determined to get up there at least once this summer.

– Make homemade doughnuts

I don’t know why I’m so fascinated with the idea of making my own doughnuts, but I am, and it’s making the list. I hope you’re as excited to see how this turns out as I am.

– Have a picnic outside on a blanket

Easy enough, right?

– Make caprese salad using basil and tomatoes from my own plants

Urban gardening is tough, y’all. Currently I have three medium sized pots filled with basil, a tomato plant, and mint. So far, so good. I love coming home everyday to see how they’ve grown! The end goal is caprese and mojitos for everyone! BYOC – Bring your own chair. Our little nest has limited seating.

– Craft something

Anything will do. I’ll keep you posted.

– Buy a piece of artwork while traveling

Last but not least. As I mentioned above, we have some pretty stellar trips planned in the coming months, and I’d love to fall in love with a piece of artwork to add to our little space and help us remember the great summer of 2014 while we shiver during whatever polar vortex next winter has in store for us.

So there we have it! I imagine this will be a nice working document with some things added as we think of them, but if we accomplish all of this between now and Labor Day I’ll call it a win. What do you have planned? Anything on your summer bucket list?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Summer Bucket List

  1. Pingback: Summer Reading List | Love in a Little Nest

  2. Pingback: Fit for a Friday | Love in a Little Nest

  3. Pingback: Mid-Week Peaks | Love in a Little Nest

  4. Pingback: Seven Ways to Make July Great | Love in a Little Nest

  5. Pingback: Update on My Summer Bucket List | Love in a Little Nest

Leave a Reply

