Stitch Fix Recap

Stitch Fix #1

Hi! I hope everyone had a great weekend! I’ll catch you up on ours in Wednesday’s Mid-Week Peaks, but for now, here’s a recap of my first Stitch Fix. My apologies in advance for the low-quality photos. I was just trying to get some quick shots to give you a better idea of the clothing and fit, so please bear with me.

To start, if you’ve never heard of Stitch Fix, here’s a quick run-down. Stitch Fix (referral link) is an online personal styling service for women. You create an account and style profile, and you schedule when you would like to receive your five hand-picked items. You have three days once you receive the items to try them on at home, decide what to keep, and send what you don’t want back in a pre-paid USPS envelope. Each piece you receive comes with a styling card with tips and pictures on how to dress the clothing up or down with items you may already have in your closet. The upfront cost is a $20 styling fee, which is deducted from your order if you decide to keep anything. Prices are clearly marked on all your items, and if you decide to keep all five pieces you receive 25% off your order. Really, the only thing you have to “lose” is the $20 styling fee if you end up returning everything.

1. Chevron Tank (Cordelia) – $48.00

My first thought when I pulled this out of the box was that it wasn’t worth $48. The color was great, but I’m tiring of the chevron trend, and the cut of the tank wasn’t anything I couldn’t have found out Target for thirty dollars less. It was cute, but I didn’t give it a second glance. Bonus points do go to Stitch Fix for including two white camisoles in my box for try-on. It made the at-home shopping session that much easier.

Displaying photo 1.JPG

Decision: Sent Back

2. Denna Colored Skinny Jean (Kut from the Kloth) – $78.00

I love a great pair of white jeans and wear them often during the summer months, so I was actually excited when I saw this in my fix. They were a brand I had never tried and the price was reasonable for quality jeans. Unfortunately, before I even looked in the mirror I could tell the fit wasn’t right. They were cut a little too high, the thighs were baggy, and the length too long. J actually called them mom jeans. I could see how these could be great on another body type, but they weren’t for me.

Displaying photo.JPG

Decision: Sent Back

3. Colibri Bird Print Tab-Sleeve Blouse (Pomelo) – $48.00

I’m going to say right off the bat, the bird print isn’t for me. The colors were cute, but if I’m going to do a pattern, I’m more of a classic stripes or polka-dot kinda girl. I’m glad I took a picture of this, because it didn’t feel that big on, but it is definitely obvious in the photo. It was too big, and the slits on the side were awkwardly high. I will say that the material of this shirt was really nice. It wasn’t as sheer as the other blouses, and it would have been work-appropriate had the fit and pattern been better.

Displaying photo 1.JPGDisplaying photo 2.JPG

Decision: Sent Back

4. Melody Lace Embellished Sleeveless Blouse (Papermoon) – $48.00

My first impression of this sleeveless blouse was that the color was really great. It was more vibrant in person than the picture shows, and it would have been a piece I could have worn in the summer and through the fall with layers. My second impression was that the quality wasn’t great for the price. There were loose strands around the lace detailing (you can see the detailing better in the photo at the bottom of this post,) and the sheer fabric seemed too delicate to stand up to much wear. Not what I would expect for $48.

Displaying photo.JPG

Decision: Sent Back

5. Moni Geo Print & Camisole Blouse (41Hawthorn) – $58.00

Let me start by saying I loved the color and pattern of this blouse. My first thought was, “ohmygoshI’mkeepingthis!” … Then I tried it on, and I went from about a 10 on the excitement scale down to a 7. The sleeves were cut strangely with the stud detailing, which made them puff up a little awkwardly. The fabric was also pretty sheer. Obviously it would have always been worn with a cami, but I felt like the combo of the bold pattern + the stud details + the sheer fabric made it debate-ably work appropriate. Still at a 7, this was the one piece in my keep pile. I packed things up and walked away for an hour or so. And then I came back to the top… And then I looked at the delicate fabric again – a fabric that would be prone to snags and loose threads… And then I thought about how irritated I would be if I paid $58 for this blouse and it got a snag… my excitement fizzled to a 5.

Displaying photo 3.JPGDisplaying photo 2.JPG

 

Decision: Sent Back

I ended up sending all five pieces back. Unfortunately, that means I also lost my $20 styling fee, as that would have been applied to my purchase had I decided to keep anything. I really tried to not use that as a reason to keep something I didn’t love though. Ultimately, the fix was fun. I was excited to receive it, and I enjoyed trying everything on and seeing what the stylist picked out. The experience was worth the $20 to me even if nothing worked out this time. I’ve heard from others that the fixes get better each time as the stylist better learns your likes and dislikes, and in retrospect, I could have been more detailed when filling out my style profile. While I probably won’t schedule another fix this summer, I may consider it again in the fall. I could also see this being a great treat for a busy mom who may find it difficult to make it out to shop with little ones in tow. The convenience really was unbeatable.

Displaying photo 4.JPG

What did you think of the pieces I received? Would you ever try a service like Stitch Fix?

 

Leave a Reply

